German Federal Ministry of Research launches first projects from future package for quantum technologies

To combat the economic consequences of the Corona crisis, the German government is putting in­to place an as­sis­tance pack­age of his­toric pro­por­tions. A part of this is a package for the future of innovation, which also includes investments in quantum technologies. The German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) is now starting with initial preparatory measures for quantum quantum communication and quantum computing hardware.

With EUR 120 million, as first part of the announced EUR 2 billion for quantum technologies, the BMBF will now launch the first projects with a focus on the fundamental key technologies for quantum communication and quantum computing according to the BMFB press release (German).

The recommendations for action from an ongoing development of an German quantum computing roadmap will be presented as part of the German government’s innovation dialog in January. Further steps will be
coordinated with other departments in the next quarter.

Comments are closed.

Bundesforschungsministerium bringt erste Projekte aus Zukunftspaket für Quantentechnologien an den Start

Um die wirtschaftlichen Folgen der Corona-Krise zu bekämpfen, schnürt die Bundesregierung ein Konjunkturpaket von gewaltigem Ausmaß. Das Zukunftspaket für Innovationen ist ein Teil davon und beinhaltet auch Investitionen in die Quantentechnologien. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) startet nun mit ersten vorbereitenden Maßnahmen zur Quantenkommunikation und Quantencomputer-Hardware.

Mit 120 Mio. Euro, einem ersten Teil der angekündigten 2 Mrd. Euro für Quantentechnologien, wird das BMBF nun, laut Pressemitteilung des BMBF, erste Projekte mit Fokus auf die grundlegenden Schlüsseltechnologien für Quantenkommunikation und Quantencomputing starten.

Die Handlungsempfehlungen aus der laufenden Entwicklung einer deutschen Quantencomputer-Roadmap werden im Rahmen des Innovationsdialogs der Bundesregierung im Januar vorgestellt. Die weiteren Schritte werden im nächsten Quartal mit anderen Ressorts abgestimmt.

Kommentare sind geschlossen.